top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen

My Travel Essentials

Now that I've been traveling a descent amount I've gathered my list of "Must Have's" while away from home. Read below to see the things I like to use while traveling to make my life a little easier!

  • Long Phone Charger - This has been a life saver for me. I bought a three pack and use them regularly at home too. They're great for being able to use your phone wherever you are in the room, but they really save the day when it comes to airports. At the airport, finding a seat next to an outlet is always a challenge. With these long chargers, you don't have to worry because your phone will reach you wherever you sit!


  • Power Strip - Since a lot of our travels lately have been long-term this has been super helpful for us. We have a lot of devices that need charging; our phones, our international phones (because one phone is just not enough), my Apple watch, the iPad, our laptops, etc.. I love having the power strip so we can charge everything at once and not have to worry about having enough outlets!


  • Power Adapter - Power Adapters are absolutely necessary depending on where you're going. Do your research before traveling to see which outlet's you'll need. I recommend getting one that has multiple options on it as well as multiple inputs so you can charge more thing than one and have many different countries covered.


  • Space Saver Bags - I have never raved about such a simple product more than this one. I am by no means a "good packer" but these bags have been revolutionary for me. They drastically increase how much you can fit into your bag. If there's one thing you buy, it should be these!


  • TSA Approved Suitcase Locks - It's super important to be cautious about your bags going through the airports. I've heard many stories about people finding missing items out of their bags. That's why it's important to invest in these TSA Approved locks for each of your bags. Better safe than sorry! Just make sure it's TSA Approved so that they are able to get it open for security searches.


  • GoPro - I have the GoPro hero 5 Black and love it. It's so convenient to use when you're out doing adventurous things and don't want to risk losing/wrecking your phone. Plus it's waterproof and awesome for beachy vacations! There's so many different accessories you can get to use with the go pro, I've listed my favorites below to help sort through them all.


  • Selfie Stick - I chose this one because it works on both your phone and the GoPro. Plus it has a tripod and remote so you can take photos from a distance. Selfie sticks are a necessary evil!


  • Waterproof Case And Filters - Even though the GoPro is waterproof I wanted to get a case to be safe. I like this one because it's secure while also still allowing clear pictures. It also came with filters to use in different types of water which was a bonus!


  • GoPro Sleeve And Lanyard - The go pro doesn't have a great way to carry it when it's not in a bulky case. I like this one because it's cute, provides an extra layer of protection while also allowing you to easily carry it around!


  • Floating Strap - Nate suggested we get this for the waterproof case because he's afraid I'll lose my camera. We like the bright color and float in case we ever DO drop it in the water!


  • Charger And Replacement Batteries - The GoPro didn't come with a charger so I bought this one because it had the ability to charge three batteries at once (two of which came with the charger) it's always good to have extra batteries!


  • Cetaphil Moisturizing Cream - I LOVE Cetaphil, I use it every day. No matter what kind of water you have for showering throughout the world it's always good to have your favorite moisturizing cream to help calm your skin!


  • Portable Charger - Always a good idea to carry one around with you if you have a full day of exploring! It would be a huge bummer if your phone were to die in the middle of a full-day excursion just when you were going to snap the perfect pic!


  • iPad - I love having my iPad with me when I travel. Mostly for Netflix, downloading shows to watch on the plane but also for adding journal entries about our travels! It's way more convenient than carrying around a laptop.


  • iPad Keyboard Case - This is mostly helpful if you plan to use your iPad as a computer while you travel, looking into hotel's/flights, but also for writing journal entries.


  • Quik App - I swear by this app. I used to use iMovie to create travel video's but it would take forever. I started using Quik App last year and it's a lifesaver! Save's so much time and makes your video's look professional!


  • Selfie Stick - If you don't have a GoPro I suggest getting a regular old selfie stick. I like this one because it uses Bluetooth to connect to your phone so you wont need a cord (which is helpful for those of you on the iPhone train who no longer have a headphone jack to plug it into).


  • Tripod - Traveling just the two of you? Bring along a tripod to capture photos of yourselves together without bothering strangers to take your photo!


  • Sunglasses - I don't know about you, but sunglasses are a must for me. I get so upset when I forget to bring my sunglasses out!


  • Hat - I've recently gotten really into hat's especially when traveling to warm weather places. It's such a cute way to help give your face a little extra protection from the sun.


  • Waterproof Phone Pouch - I got this as part of my Christmas present from Nate's mom and it's been a huge help! I didn't know I needed one until I got it! It's so convenient when you don't want to leave your phone on the beach/by the pool while you go swimming!


  • Google Translate - I wouldn't have survived any of our travels without Google Translate! Be sure to download the languages so you can use the app offline in case you won't have service!


  • Google Maps - Also a life saver. I rely on my phone so much for directions. Download the maps of the places you will be going so that you can access them offline!


  • Compact Dryer - Not all hotel's/AirBnB's offer hairdryers. I like this option because it folds up nicely and doesn't take a lot of space in your bag!


  • Curler/Straightener 2-in-1 - I like the idea of having my curler/straightener as a 2-in-1 to optimize all the space in my bag! If you're not super connected to your current tools I definitely suggest getting one of these to cut down on your packing!


This is a start to my list of packing essentials, I'm sure I'm forgetting something (because I always feel that way). If there's something you think of that I should add to my list I'd love to hear it! send me a message or comment below.


Otherwise, thanks for reading, I hope you find this helpful!

-Jen






28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page