top of page
  • Writer's pictureJen

How to Dye Oui Yogurt Jars

I've been on the search for small vases to plant my succulents in and came across these Oui jars on Pinterest. I thought they were the cutest little things and had to give it a try.


I started collecting some recycled ones and researched how to dye them and went on with my way.



Here's how it's done!


What You Need:

  • Oui Jars

  • Food Coloring

  • A Mixing Utencil (I used a plastic knife)

  • Paper Towels, Wax Paper or Cardboard

  • An Oven

  • Cookie Sheet


Here's How It's Done

  • Start by washing your jars and removing the labels. If the label is being tough to get off, soak it in some warm soapy water and it should help.

  • Once the jar is clean and dry start by pouring about a table spoon and a half of mod podge into one of the jars.

  • Next add the food coloring, I wanted my jars to be different shades of blue so I added 8 drops of blue and 3-4 drops of green.

  • Mix this up right in the jar.

  • Once the color is completely mixed together, swirl it around until the entire jar is covered. Once you get to the edges I started holding it over a new jar so the excess liquid fell into that jar in order to re-use some mod podge and not waste a bunch.


  • Once all your jars have been covered, sit them upside down on some wax paper, a paper towel or cardboard. I used wax paper and didn't have much of a problem with it sticking together when it came time to move them.




  • Let the jars sit upside down for about an hour to let all the excess liquid run out of the jar.

  • Once completed, move the jars right side up onto a cookie sheet.

  • Pre-heat the oven to 215 degrees.

  • Once the oven is pre-heated, place your jars in there for about an hour, or until your jars are translucent agian.

  • Once done in the oven, remove them and let them cool.

  • Enjoy your new jars!


If you liked this tutorial and tried it for yourself, let us know how it turned out! We'd love to hear. Send us a message or comment below!


Thanks for reading!

Jen

31,968 views20 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page